Fiestas

All Hallow’s Eve

Halloween. 

Definitely one of my favorite holidays. Not because of the candy – I’ve always only been a big fan of smarties and Reeses, but not much else tickles my fancy. No, it is one of my favorites because of the excitement of “dressing up”.

The creativity of emulating another being is so alluring – both physically in designing the costume and how you can shake up your psyche. Not to say that everyone who dresses up becomes another person, but let’s be honest: people get a little strange, and that makes the world a little spooky.

There are certain trends – girls dress up a little sexier, and boys either dress up as sexy girls or freakish ghouls. It is a physical manifestation of people expressing their deeper darker selves; what they wish to be or how they want to be perceived by the world. Based on these assumptions and trends, I think most people just want to be sexy girls.

However, I’ve noticed that I love dressing up as once-famous old men. I’ve been Hulk Hogan, Conan O’Brien, and most recently Axl Rose. Definitely not the most attractive bunch. Maybe I just want to be an unattractive has-been with a lot of oomph. Yes, it’s all in the oomph.

Image

 

For this year’s Halloween I took part in a few festivities:

– Giants Wold Series Championship Parade – I popped by on my lunch break and it was like Washington High School Spirit week all over again – the city was bleeding orange and black. I couldn’t see anything beyond the massive Budweiser semi truck with hundreds of people climbing on it. God I love America.

Fun Fact: new record set for total number of BART riders in one day (500,000). The previous record was set the day of the 2010 Giants World Series Championship Parade!!

– Freaktoberfest at Beer Revolution, hosted by Jeremy Cowan and his one and only Jewish Circus themed craft brewery – Shmaltz. Live music, Fresh Pizza being baked outside, delicious beer, and many many people in a tiny space. I loved it. Accompanied by the crew Zachary (an old man), Ari (Slash), Benjamin Iremonger (curve ball), and my bffitwww Kate Gard Cahill (a bear). 

– The Hallowed Ball at The Foundry, hosted by the one and only stone fruit slingin’ ever so talented Harrison Murphy. The Foundry is a warehouse in West Berkeley that the one and only quirky dancing king Ross Warren hosts art performances. Last night was an eclectic mix of music ensembles, performance art, and sculptures. I’m still recovering from how bizarre the performance art piece was.

And of course, no night is complete without 3 bean burritos (2 without salsa), 2 chicken burritos, one Green Chile Quesadilla, a large Diet Coke, and 2 Loco Tacos for $17.36 from the drive through Taco Bell in downtown Oakland. Mission accomplished.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “All Hallow’s Eve

  1. It’s odd, Jacquie, but you look a lot more like Axl than . . well . . . er . . . ah . . . Axl Rose does . . . these days.

Leave a Reply

